iPhone

We've all done it... and when I mean done it, we've all taken SEVERAL photos and videos when we're watching our favorite artists perform. Or we've taken a bajillion photos of our nieces and nephews or that cute puppy that we have NO idea who the owner is. Whatever your guilty pleasure is, we all have a million photos that we never want to lose but the iPhone always wants us to delete them when we get that "Don't Have Enough Storage" pop-up just when we're about to take a selfie with a famous person. 

So we're here to help you clear up that space on your iPhone WITHOUT deleting your photos.

1. Attempt to rent a movie with a larger file size

In April, a Reddit user gave iPhone users craving more storage space a tip that actually worked. To free up space, the user recommended logging onto the iTunes Store and attempting to rent a movie with a large file size, like “The Lord of the Rings,” for example. The film will be too big to download, which will then prompt a “not enough storage notification.” You select “OK” and then head to your Settings. Select General, then go to Storage & iCloud Usage and you’ll notice that you have more space.

2. Delete unused or unnecessary storage-eating apps

The easiest way to free up gigabytes of space on your iPhone is by deleting apps that you don’t use that take up a lot of room. When you navigate your way from Settings to the Manage Storage tab, it’s easy to identify which apps are taking up the most space. If you’re willing to part with social networking apps, start by deleting video-heavy ones that suck up your data (sorry Snapchat and YouTube).

3. Delete Old Text Messages

Do you really plan to scroll back through a years-worth of texts? If the answer is “no,” it’s time to reconfigure your Messages settings. Go to your Settings, select Messages and then reset your Keep Messages to 30 days. (Note: Once you select this option, all text messages older than 30 days will be deleted from your device.)

4. Stop using My Photo Stream

When iCloud Photo Library and My Photo Stream are enabled on your device your recent photos are added to the My Photo Stream album on your phone. The photos are stored for 30 days. If you don’t feel the need to sync photos to your iPad or computer from your iPhone, then it’s time to lose this feature. (Note: Before turning off My Photo Stream, you should save any photos that you’d like to keep.)

5. Don't Keep both photos when HDR mode 

The High Dynamic Range (HDR) feature of the iPhone works to balance the shadows and highlights of a photo to give you the best quality. So, there’s no reason to keep “normal,” lower quality photos along with high definition ones. A simple pro-tip: Turn off the Keep Normal Photo feature and stick with HDR photos. Go to Settings, Photos & Camera and deselect Keep Normal Photo. Saving two different versions of the same picture takes up space on your phone that may be preventing you from taking even more (high quality) photos.

If you want to know even MORE tips, check out the rest of this article put together from CBS News.

Photo via Getty Images