Mayor Cooper announces all non-essential businesses to close for COVID-19

Mayor John Cooper announced the "Safer at Home Order," which closes non-essential businesses and encourages residents in Davidson County to stay home when possible in an effort to combat the coronavirus pandemic.

Executive Order #7 orders all businesses not performing essential services to close for 14 days beginning at 12:01 a.m. on Monday, March 23. A complete list of essential service categories can be found at

Cooper announced there were 179 confirmed cases of coronavirus in Davidson County during a press conference on Sunday morning.