NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WZTV) —Daylight Saving Time is right around the corner and despite Tennessee's Daylight Saving Time law, residents still need to turn their clocks back.
Tennesseans will have to "fall back" and turn their clocks back one hour at 2 a.m. on Sunday, Nov. 1.
A Daylight Saving Time law passed in Tennessee last year, which aims to have the state "spring forward" permanently.
However, the law still needs to be passed by Congress in order to make it permanent. For this, Congress will have to amend the Uniform Time Act of 1996.
So, even though Tennessee does have a law that aims to keep residents from changing the clocks twice a year - the ultimate decision will be up to the Federal Government.
Fire Safety Reminder:
Daylight Saving Time is also a great reminder to check the batteries in your smoke alarm and carbon monoxide alarms.
The Tennessee State Fire Marshal’s Office said most fire fatalities happen while the victims are sleeping, so having working smoke alarms is essential. Here are some tips from the fire marshal's office:
- Install working smoke alarms inside and outside of every sleeping area and have at least one alarm on every level of the home. Make sure everyone can hear the alarm and know what it sounds like.
- Smoke alarms with 10 year sealed batteries are available and designed to last for the life of the alarm. If the alarm chirps on these units, replace the entire smoke alarm right away.
- Test alarms once a month using the test button. Replace the entire alarm if it's more than 10 years old or doesn't work properly when tested.
- Devise a fire escape plan with two ways out of every room and a common meeting place. Share and practice the plan with all who live in the home, including children.
- When a smoke alarm sounds, get out of the home immediately and go to your pre-planned meeting place to call 9-1-1.